Is it bad, or are you just ignorant?

Hola bounjour hello!

The blog post today is just a question that I think about a lot. When I watch a movie or listen to music, and I don’t like it, I don’t know if it’s bad, or I’m just dumb.

For example, when I was watching Seven Psychopaths, I understood the plot and everything, but the movie was so jumbled, and the plot so unsatisfying that I didn’t like it.

There weren’t even seven psychopaths. Maybe I missed the point…

all the critics loved it so much, so I felt like I was missing something. I still kinda do, so I need to re-watch it.I felt the same exact thing when I watched Apocalypse Now Redux. I’m pretty sure I’m just not smart enough to interpret this movies. I understand the plot and everything, but I want more clarification on the theme of Seven Psychopaths and Apocalypse Now. I just watched Cloud Atlas, and I understood most of the little things in that movie, when all the critics say it’s a jumbled mess. I understood the themes and everything.

A bad movie I’ve seen recently was Paranormal Activity 4. I completely understand the motivations of the directors, producers, etc. It was obviously just a money grab. Also, the plot was RIDICULOUSLY thin, and hilariously acted. It failed on all levels, especially on the level of scaring me. It’s an extremely shallow movie, so I know it’s bad. I’m not ignorant of any of the facts.

Maybe I should just rewatch a bunch of these movies I don’t understand. First time I watched The Matrix, I had no idea what was going on. It was maybe on my 5th watch that everything finally clicked into place.

It was great.

Have you ever felt this way?

Leave a Reply

